How To Show You Are Sorry

As most of you know I played field hockey at a DIII school. When I was a freshman I played and even started in a few games, as a new collegent player I was pretty proud of myself for that accomplishment. As proud as I was of myself I was also scared crapless about making mistakes. I would get in a game and fear making a mistake and getting subbed out. I talked to one of mcares mates about my playing and explained my hear to her. That’s when I received some of my best field hockey related advice ever. She shared with me that mistakes are always going to happen all that matters is how I reacted to ten and if I did anything to become a better player when I faced that scenario in the future. As a slightly ocd person afraid of disappointing a person (let alone an entire team) it took me a while to get into the mind frame of “mistakes are okay as long as I learn from them”. It took me until about half way through the season to not fear making mistakes. By my junior year I was able to start the game and after my first mistake I didn’t give it another thought.
The entire point of that story, is that I’ve learned that my field hockey advice also applies to real life. I didn’t set an alarm last night an I didn’t wake up until 850. I made my first mistake and was late by an hour. Lesson learned, I’m going to have a separate real alarm clock besides my phone.

What I Ate Wednesday
Well I did it again. I was running late today and it totally threw me off the entire day. I didn’t take any photos of what I ate. Basically I ate whatever I had at work and drank a lot of water and tea.

Instead I’m going to blog about a recipe I made for my sister as an “I’m sorry your cat died” apology. Unfortunately my sister had to put her cat Molly down yesterday. Kristen adopted her from the SPCA and a previous abusive home about a year ago. She was overweight and skiddish. Poor Molly had some intestinal issues and no matter what the vet did it just wasn’t going to make Molly any better. Kristen texted me yesterday about it and within hours I was in the kitchen making her some of her favorite cookies….

No Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Mix and bring the following to a boil..

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup cocoa
  • 2 cups sugar
then add:
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vinalla
  • 3 cups oatmeal

beat until thick and drop by teaspoon on waxed paper

By the end they should look a little something like this…

20120328-120704.jpg

Question of the day – what are your favorite cookies to receive from someone else? I am a fan of my aunts chocolate chip cookies. I’m not sure why she puts in them (crack maybe?) but they are SO good and I devour them whenever they are around.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

