Another Half Marathon…

Well, it’s pretty much official.  My sister and the rest of my ‘Chix’ teammates have pretty much convinced me to do the Lewiston Half Marathon on September 22nd.  Just ONE WEEK before my best friend’s wedding.  YIKES!  I looked it up and it’s a beautiful and very scenic course.  I know that if I have a few friends that will be there I am more likely to be pushed harder and take training more seriously.  I took a look at Hal Higden’s Novice 2 – 12 week program and I’ve tweaked it a bit to fit my needs more.

SAT: Because the race is on Saturday, I plan on keeping my distance days on Saturday. I try to keep these runs a little more flat, but most times hills are involved – it’s hard to run around town and not face hills.
SUN: Sundays are for some sort of cross training – doesn’t matter if it’s swimming, rollerblading, tennis, biking, water skiing, anything that keeps my body in motion and not just sitting on my ass ‘”recovering”.
MON: Monday’s I will take full advantage of being lazy and instead of an off day, I want to use my foam roller or just get a good stretch in. Probably a leisurely walk at night too.
TUES: I will most likely be doing this workout at the track. I’m going to try to incorporate 12 laps with 12 different total body movements that mimic a lift at the gym (pushups, chair dips, lunges, stairs, squats, etc.)
WED: I’ll head out for a run, most likely through the park to get in some hills.
THURS: Just like Tuesday, I will most likely be doing this workout at the track. I’m going to try to incorporate 12 laps with 12 different total body movements that mimic a lift at the gym (pushups, chair dips, stairs, squats, etc.)
FRI: Again, like Monday this is supposed to be more of an off day, so I’m thinking I will do a light form of yoga that is allot of stretching and prepping for Saturday’s longer run. Besides, never have I ever wanted to work out on a Friday. Ever.
REPEAT x 11.

The last (and only) time I ran a half marathon was in Rochester with one of my great roommates from college, Mel.  Here are a few of my favorite photos from the day..

early morning, pre race jitters

so proud of ourselves!

with my favorite cheering squad. dad, mom and marc!

 

Here’s to starting at day 1 all over again!

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Another Half Marathon…

  1. hemingwayrun says:

    Good luck with the run! We’ve just entered the Great North Run 13.1miles in sept. I only started running a few weeks ago, so thought I’d blog to motivate training. Enjoying it so far!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

