Vegan Tuna Salad

guess who’s back?! Rachael!! As I’m on my way home from Michigan (BOOOO!) I figured I would give you guys another guest post to look forward to. She did me a huge favor and wrote up another guest post for me :-)

Hello there, The Little Spoon Blog readers! I’m Rachael, I blog at Ready to Get Sweaty, and I’m so excited to post here today while Katie is relaxing and soaking up the sun.
For today’s post Katie told me I could write whatever I wanted, so that means you are getting one of my new favorite recipes, Vegan Tuna Salad. When I made the decision to become a vegetarian 4 years ago I knew I’d miss chicken salad, egg salad and more recently tuna salad (I recently added fish to the list of things I don’t eat). Until a few months ago I haven’t been able to find anything that resembles the tasty “salad” sandwiches I used to crave. So whether you are a vegetarian, vegan or hearty meat eater, I hope you give this yummy recipe a try.
Vegan Tuna Salad
Ingredients
1 can (15 oz) chickpeas
2 celery stalks
2 T relish (I like the one with mustard and relish – it adds a little something extra)
2 t nutritional yeast
1 T soy sauce
2 T vegan mayo (you can most certainly use regular mayo)
1 T spicy mustard (optional)
Black pepper (to taste)
Directions
  1. Pulse chickpeas in a food processor a few times, but be careful to not puree them, just slightly mashed.
  2. Chop celery and combine in bowl with chickpeas.
  3. Add remaining ingredients, stirring to combine.
  4. Add black pepper to taste, stir, and ENJOY!
Another option is to omit the relish and substitute fresh herbs, such as dill, parsley or even a fresh squeeze of lemon juice. I’ve even added in chopped carrots for some extra crunch. Use in sandwiches, roll-ups, lettuce cups, or serve as an appetizer spread for crackers.

Trust me, you will love this recipe!
Xo – Rachael

Looks like I’ve got a new recipe to try out.. maybe Meg (insert link) would be interested in tackling this recipe for her next healthy cooking attempt…

I hope everyone had a great week – I’ll be back in Buffalo soon and you can expect a new post from me in the next couple of days! Tomorrow is all about getting back to work and getting back into the swing of things.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

