Lent Edition

Well here I go again, I was in bed last night thinking about today’s post and I realized – tomorrow (now today) is Ash Wednesday, aka I’m desperately trying supposed to fast….for anyone who knows me – this is near impossible.  In fact, as I got in the car this morning to go to the gym (I rode with my mom – Patty is in the shop) I started to eat my egg white and turkey bacon concoction mom reminded me “Kate, today is Ash Wednesday” my response? “Oh S***” I gave up swearing for lent.  Epic fail.  Go me.  It was 6:30 am, I might as well have driven home, gone back to bed and slept for another hour and tried today over.

Besides ‘giving up’ swearing for lent, one night at dinner my mom dad and I (my sister is now on board too – hey kree!) decided that we were going to add something to our lives for lent.  The verdict? One random act of kindness a day.  Holding the door open, paying for someone’s coffee behind you, putting a flower on someone’s windshield, writing a letter to a loved one, etc.  Whether the gesture is big or small, it counts.  I am actually really excited for this.  Just think about the last time a total stranger did something kind for you, or you witnessed that happen to someone, didn’t it just warm your heart and make you smile even for half a second?  Well that’s my goal.  Try to make someone else’s day better, each and every day.

So anyways, I suppose I should at least give you the run down, I’ll save individual photos for next week – this week was pretty darn boring! Egg white/turkey bacon (ate just the egg whites) on my way to the gym, chocolate protein shake after the gym, an Iced Oatmeal Raisin Luna Bar (I am OBSESSED with these bad boys) and about 25 baby carrots around 10 and by lunch time I was fresh out of food and hungry.  I knew that I didn’t want to eat a large meal, because I am supposed to be fasting so I headed to the grocery store and bought myself a granny smith apple and ate it with some peanut butter.  Upon coming home after work I had some tuna on Udi’s Gluten Free Bread and then I tried some new to me Chipotle Cheese Rice & Bean Chips with our homemade salsa and boy is that a winning combination!   That’s what I’ve had so far and I’m going to try to keep it to a minimum for the rest of the evening.

Man, I really need to get on my game with blogging this week, so far I’m 1 for 3!  Have a great night and I’ll be checking in tomorrow night 🙂

Question(s) of the day: what did you give up or add for lent?  What is your best swearing alternative word or phrase?  This chicka could use some help 😉

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Lent Edition

  1. […] day off again and slept a solid 10 hours last night, still felt like crapola (that’s not a swear word right? I’ve been doing so good!)  when I woke up so I rolled over and got some more shut eye. […]

  2. […] line up was much better then last week’s weak WIAW attempt.  Today started with a post workout chocolate protein shake (using CytoSport […]

Leave a Reply

