Bake ‘Til You Drop?

You know how I said I deal with stress in one of two ways?  Well since I already blew through my paycheck de-stressed yesterday/the past two weeks, I figured it was time to bake something.  Ladies and gentlemen, I give to you…

Gluten Free Colossal Cookies

  • 1/2 cup margarine
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 cups peanut butter (one 18oz jar)
  • 6 cups oatmeal
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 2 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Beat softened margarine and sugars. Blend eggs one at a time.  Add vanilla and peanut butter, mix well.  Stir in oats, chocolate chips, baking soda. Mix well.  Drop onto baking sheet, bake for 10-12 minutes, let cool on pan for a minute, transfer to cooling rack.  Enjoy!

These cookies are delish.  I was first introduced to these cookies when I went gluten free a while back.  I traded my beloved 3 ingredient peanut butter cookies recipe for this one.  Thank you neighbors 🙂  I eat these cookies as is, in my yogurt and sometimes pre workout.  I’m convinced these colossal cookies are ‘good for me’ because they have both peanut butter and oatmeal in them.  I am slowly learning the hard way that while these may taste great, they may not be great for my diet.  Or I could stop eating them by the dozen…

WHAT I ATE WEDNESDAY

Today’s line up was much better then last week’s weak WIAW attempt.  Today started with a post workout chocolate protein shake (using CytoSport Muscle Milk) in my new Mini Blender Bottle (I would highly suggest the mini version, for those of you who do drink much more than 12 ounces at a time).  Got to work around 8:30 and started my normal work day.  After being horizontal for the past 4 days, it felt kind of strange to be back at it.  Around 11 I started to get really hungry and didn’t think I could make it to lunch so I had an orange.   Lunch time finally came around and I helped myself to a portion of feta and cream cheese salmon that I made for dinner the other night.  Thanks to mr. google, I found a great recipe for the salmon…

Feta and Cream Cheese Salmon

I mixed together 1/3 cup of feta cheese with 4 ounces of softened cream cheese and added in ground basil (don’t ask me how much, I just added until it looked good – whoops!).  After topping the salmon with the mixture I baked it for about 20  minutes at 350 degrees.   Two thumbs up from this girl!   I actually thought that there was a tad too much topping, but my mom disagreed and said it was ideal.  Add some peas and brown rice and we have a fantastic meal ladies and gents.

The rest of the work day included a granny smith apple (by far my favorite) with peanut butter, another orange and blood orange Chobani yogurt.  This was my first time having the blood orange kind.  The verdict…DELISH!!

Snacks

After work I went over to my cousin’s house to babysit.  I say babysit, but in reality I’m really just hanging out with my cousin.  My 11 year old cousin who is quickly catching up to me… I swear I torment him sometimes just because I know in a few years I won’t be able to hold my own against him anymore and our roles just might be reversed… crud.

We went to Applebee’s for dinner and I had the Key Lime Chicken.  It was sub par and not too pretty so I didn’t take a picture of it.  I’m back at their house, and should probably get back out to the living room…where my 24 year old boyfriend is playing knee hockey with an 11 year old.  It’s getting pretty loud out there…

 

Question of the day: Do you have a favorite chain food restaurant?  If so, where?  Chipotle is quickly climbing the rank…

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Bake ‘Til You Drop?

  1. […] and repeat (not always in that order or that frequency).   Oh, and I’m sure I’ll be baking and shopping at some point.   I will be boyfriend-less for the week (have fun on vacation nugs!) […]

  2. […] is for favorite treat: Colossal Cookies. […]

Leave a Reply

