Smorgasbord

Definition of SMORGASBORD

1: a luncheon or supper buffet offering a variety of foods and dishes (as hors d’oeuvres, hot and cold meats, smoked and pickled fish, cheeses, salads, and relishes)
I’ve arrived in the great state of Pennsylvania! Actually, I arrived last night – no problems with the commute – it went nice and smooth…but not quickly.  7 hours later and I arrived at the Swink household and was welcomed by a great dinner!  After visiting for a while and watching some tv with Al, we headed up to bed.. for me, that meant a water bed!  It reminded me of my aunt’s water bed in grandma audie’s house when I was growing up.
We woke up this morning and headed to Lancaster County – Amish Country PA.  Apparently, there was some diner that we just had to go to.  I quickly understood why.  We arrived at our destination, Shady Maple Smorgasbord.  And a smorgasbord it was. This place was huge! We got a table, a headed up for the first of many plates. I tried a little of everything – chocolate milk, egg whites, over easy egg, bacon, turkey sausage, grapes, hash brown, and maybe even some soft serve ice cream to round out the meal.  I was stuffed.
As if the restaurant wasn’t impressive enough, we headed downstairs to take a gander at all of the knick knacks they had for sale.  My favorites included…
It was like they knew I was coming with all of the little spoons!!  Looking back, I should have purchased all the state spoons that I have visited.  What a great idea. Dang!
We headed next door to the Amish version of a grocery store.  I was most impressed with their bulk section.. and these shimmery sprinkles.  They was hard to resist..
After breakfast, we headed back to Ally’s house for a quick cat nap, took her two Red Setter dogs for a walk (ps I’m loving being surrounded by dogs again) and got ready to meet Ally’s friend Hayley.  We headed up to where Ally’s new house is to try out the local cuisine and found ourselves in The Flying Pig Saloon.  I am a fan.  None of us were really starving, so we ordered lots of appetizers, and by the end we were stuffed.

Get in my belly!

The food was great, the atmosphere was great and the company was great!  I would go back there on a weekly basis if I lived close enough.  Tomorrow we have big plans to visit one of my roommate/teammates at Ithaca and explore Philly a little more.  I’m off to enjoy my time with bell!  Hope everyone is having a great weekend!!
Question of the Day: What is your favorite thing to do when visiting a friend in their hometown?  I like going to places and doing things that that person enjoys doing most.  Hiking, eating a certain restaurants, seeing where they grew up, etc.
Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Smorgasbord

  1. […] Remember when I said that I wish I had purchased a baby spoon or two from my weekend trip to Philly?  Well, someone was paying attention (hi Kree!)  My amazing sister Kristen, who just this evening […]

Leave a Reply

