My best friends wedding.

September 29th – the day my best friend got married. Crazy right?! Last year, Lisa asked me to be her Maid of Honor and it was an absolute blast. If all weddings are like this I am totally in! Lee was the easiest and most laid back bride I’ve ever been around. I only have the photos that other people took and shared with me — hopefully the professional photos come out soon so I can sneak a peek at them!! I am so unbelievably happy for Lisa and Rickey and I wish them nothing but the best. I love you both!

20121005-090901.jpg

20121005-090916.jpg

20121005-090945.jpg

20121005-090957.jpg

20121005-091010.jpg

20121005-091025.jpg

20121005-091031.jpg

20121005-091041.jpg

20121005-091147.jpg

20121005-091157.jpg

20121005-091224.jpg

20121005-091325.jpg
For those of you who asked, (more specifically my college friends who are curious) here was my MOH speech… enjoy 🙂

Hi everyone!
First of all I’d like to thank Lisa and Rickey for including me and everyone here on their special day; I could not be more thrilled to be here. Also, a special thanks to Al and Sara, Mr. and Mrs. Dojnik for making this all happen.

For those of you who may not know me, I’m Katie, Lisa’s maid of honor. I’d like to credit my mom, Sue and Lisa’s mom Sara for our friendship. Our moms are best friends and pretty much forced us to hang out when we were younger and we quickly became friends. Growing up with a best friend who didn’t live in your town was difficult but allowed for a special bond between the two of us that we still have to this day. I’m sure you can imagine my excitement when my best friend started to date someone who lived a quarter mile from my house. She was around way more, I’d like to think it was for me… but we all know it was to be with Rickey.

Some of my favorite childhood memories with Lisa include crayfish hunting in murder creek, walking to Nick’s to get our candy cigarettes and 25 cent brown paper bags full of sour patch kids, Christmas tree hunting with our families, summer days at the a frame on Bradley Brooke, ice skating on the rink that Al made in the back yard and the time we were finally old enough to walk to the hollow to get ice cream by ourselves and we barely made it 300 yards before we saw a giant snapping turtle and ran home screaming. I swear, still to this day no one believes us.

But out of all the activities to choose from, one of Lisa’s favorite things to do when we were at her house was to pull out her multiple bins of Barbies behind Al’s brown recliner. We would play with Ken and Barbie for hours. For those of you who knew Lisa growing up, you know that this is no exaggeration. They were like her prized possessions. In fact, I bet that those bins of Barbies are safely stored away somewhere at the Bathory household.

It wasn’t until Lisa asked me to come to her final dress fitting a few weeks ago and she put on her veil and turned towards me as if to ask what I thought and I was speechless. Just this morning while getting dressed in Lisa’s childhood house – it brought me back to those Barbie doll days. Except we weren’t playing with the Barbies this time – Lisa was marrying her real life Ken.

– Rickey, I’m sure it comes as no surprise but you make Lisa the happiest girl in the world. I hope you take care of her like she did her dolls….except please don’t keep her in a bin and store her away. I mean things like eat cheerios for dinner with her when she doesn’t want to cook anything, let her ‘accidentally’ bump you at 6am on a Saturday morning because she’s wide awake and bored, make sure she’s shut all of the doors after a night of drinking…. but most of all…. continue to love her like you have for the past 7 years.

I’d like to toast to the bride and groom – Lisa and Rickey, the new Mr. and Mrs. Dojnik or as I’d like to think of them… Barbie and Ken 2.0

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment